Subwoofer to pair with AR-4x speakers

superclassic

April 5, 2022 - 6:32am
superclassic
superclassic's picture

Hello Newbie here,

Looking for opinions:
I was wondering what the optimal size and brands of subwoofer to pair with my vintage AR-4x speakers for just a little extra low end. The 4x's have nice bass already with the 8" woofers but I like a little extra now and then. Thanks

Hi I bought a powered subwoofer from Parts Express for 80.00 to pair with my AR 18s for my living room system it works great we have a townhouse so I can't play it loud but nice match with Bookshelf Speakers 

On 4/5/2022 at 2:53 PM, ar_pro said:

Well, it will depend on how much you want to spend, but SVS has an outstanding subwoofer in the 3000 Micro.

I have listened to the SVS 3000 Micro's. My buddy has two of them in a 2.2 arrangement with some KEF LS50Meta's. This arrangement sounds pretty darn good.  I myself have the Jack Benny version in my bedroom. A pair of Q-350's on 23 in stands on top of a pair of Monoprice Premium Select 8 in. 200 watt subwoofers.  It sounds just OK. I am not a fan of subwoofers in stereo music systems. I listen to my AR58S speakers in the family room and my 9's in my man cave. They don't need subwoofers.

qhRmeBn.jpg

I have a pair of 1968 restored AR 4x's sitting right here. Going to swap out the KEF's and have a listen.

On 4/5/2022 at 4:15 PM, Aadams said:

Subs have a reputation for being difficult to integrate seamlessly into dedicated music systems.  Try to purchase from a dealer that has a generous returns policy. 

Definitely true. SVS has included some extraordinary degree of smartphone app control/adjustment with certain of their subwoofers, including the 3000 Micro. It's this sort of thing that separates this generation of SW's from what we've all been used to over the years. If you can deal with hyperbole, take a look at Herb Reichert's review in Stereophile: https://www.stereophile.com/content/svs-3000-micro-subwoofer