AR-2ax Cabinet Restoration

sfoster137

Hello All,

I've been collecting/repairing receivers and turntables for a little while, and now moving to speakers I find myself here. I picked up a pair of AR-2ax's and am interested in getting the cabinets in better shape. They don't need to be perfect and am happy with a bit of original character. The finish is currently quite dull and dark. Also I'm no woodworking expert but it looks like these have possibly had a staining attempt. I've looked at other AR's and don't see much of this colour.

Attached are pictures of the top, sides, bottom and back. I did a light sand of the bottom with 120 and 220 grit to see what would happen. It is the worst area for scratches as usual. I'm thinking a light sand all around, but then the next step I'm unsure about.  I have used the Howard's products (Restor-a-finish, Orange Oil, Feed n Wax) in the past. I also see a number suggesting Watco Danish Oil which I can get.

I wouldn't mind the finish a bit lighter as it's quite dark. I also need more lustre. I've sprayed lacquer on turntable plinths but don't think I want to go that route here is possible.

Any thoughts are welcome.

Thanks,

-Steve

AR Top.jpg

AR Side 1.jpg

AR Side 2.jpg

AR Bottom.jpg

AR Back.jpg

Okay, I read through Lakecat's process. Amazing work! I'll have to decide if I'm up for that, or maybe strip to where I can pretreat and restain with better results. Personally, I don't think painting is a good solution.

The drivers, pots and grills are good on these, so may be worth the effort. Unfortunately one Alnico woofer has been replaced by what appears to be an AR factory replacement. They do sound nice in the mid and top. A bit more detailed than my KLH 6's.

Thanks for the thread link IARrybody!

-Steve