AR 3A tweeter problem

carlbarry

I thought my front left beloved AR 3A sounded off.  Turns out the tweeter is nor working.  I replaced both pots a few years ago, so I doubted that was the problem.

I did the easiest thing first: checked if there is a voltage going to the tweeter.  There is, hovering around 1 volt.

Can I safely assume the tweeter is shot and needs to be replaced?

Thanks.

Hi carlbarry

I think you have 3 options and whatever you decide, you should replace both tweeters. Those half-century-old tweets are getting tired.

1. Replace them with Hi-Vi tweeters with inductors. I have thiese in my 3a's and they're fine. This is the cheapest option.
  2. Have RoyC rebuild yours. He rebuilt a pair for some speakers I was working on and the results are excellent. And they are still original.
  3. Have Chris1this1 rebuild them. I have no first-hand experience but other members (including Roy) say his work is excellent.

Since your speakers are "beloved" I'd go the rebuild route, unless cost is a major concern.

Kent

oops--Aadams gave similar advice while I was typing.

Disconnect wires from tweeter and measure across the driver terminal with an ohmeter. You should get a resistance value of 3-5 ohms. If the meter does not deflect then the driver coil "could"be open. It could also be a poor solder connection somewhere in the crossover, pots, or even at the voice coil connection on the driver. Don't rule anything out.

If $ are not a factor replace or rebuild them as mentioned by others. Good Luck!

Thank you.

I'm the original owner, and both speakers were bought at the same time.  Both are identical.

I see front wired replacements on ebay for around $88.  The HiVi are much cheaper, if I'm looking at the correct replacement, only $25.48.  But they have the back connections, not front like mine.

DSCF2981en.jpg

Don’t buy replacements. Have the originals rebuilt. Or go with HiVi. They can be front wired by drilling 2 little holes in the faceplate.