Restore Allison 9s?

umbepm

Hello, 

I found this site by looking for information on vintage floor speakers--Allison 9s.
I am the original owner of a pair of walnut Allison 9 speakers.
Can you please guide me on the cost of restoring my speakers?
I think I would need to replace the two mid-range speakers, one tweeter, and re-foam the two woofers-just from my reading on some websites?
I am also open to selling them, if I could buy speakers that are equal in value--here you can see I am a complete novice in speakers--as I saw a website selling floor speakers up to 10,000 for a pair......wow!  My Allison 9s retailed for about 1,000. for the pair when I bought them around 1984?
If I were to replace these speakers, what would it cost to replace them for a pair of speakers that are "equal" in value?
I could swear that when I listen to these Allison's, I hear notes that other speakers don't produce?  Am I completely biased, or I am a correct?

Thanks for your replies......

Welcome umbepm

Wow--that's a lot of repair. So the only "good" driver is one tweet? Are you sure? I'd suggest contacting Bill LeGall at Millersound. He can definitely refoam the woofers (and for less than Bill's estimate). As far as the mids and tweets I don't believe he repairs those but he may have some for sale. Unfortunately, Allison drivers are a little hard to come by.

A quick google found a pair of 9s on US Audio Mart for $349 but those may be CD-9s and I'm not sure how much the 9 and CD-9 differed.