AR3, AR-3a match with Mcintosh MC240?

Kamolp

Hi, Everyone

I have some questions, and want more comments from you

now I owned AR3, AR3a and already play with Mcintosh C29 + Mcintosh MC2155, sound good with no problem.

but last week I won in Ebay with Mcintosh MX110z and Mcintosh MC240, you know good this pair is tube pre-amp and amplifier.

My dream is own a pair of tube amp from Mcintosh.

it possible to play MX110z + MC240 together with AR3 or not? I read more post AR3, AR3a want more power to drive it !

But I love all of this equipment (C29, MC2155, MX110z, MC240) and don't want to sell in this time

and I can not buy any new equipment in this time because my wallet is poor

Thanks
Kamol

Welcome Kamol

I have no experience with that amp but people who do usually love it. Is it possible to play the AR3 or 3a with the Mac? Definitely.

But... these speakers do like a lot of power. If you listen to jazz or chamber music at sensible levels in a smaller room it should be fine. Just don't try to blast heavy rock or big orchestral or organ music in a large room.

Your MC240 is rated 40wpc and would probably be best with more efficient speakers and your AR-3 & 3a would do better with at least 100 wpc. At 150 wpc the McIntosh MC2155 should be perfect. I'd suggest you compare the 240 to the 2155 with your speakers, since you have both amps, and see what YOU think.

Or maybe buy another MC240 and run both in mono :D

-Kent

8 minutes ago, Stimpy said:

add some tube flavor to your solid state amp.  That could work well too.

Great suggestion. Best of both worlds.

Hi, Kent, Stimpy

Buy more MC240 is impossible in this time, because my wallet have a big hole, Ha Ha

again! I saw Mcintosh MC2105 is look like same era with MX110z, but I think 2105 is hard to compete with 2155.

You agree with me? or they different in sound signature? (I never listen to 2105 before)

I must sell some out, I cannot keep most of them, if you were me which units you will keep up?