Avid and Consumer Reports

RoyC

Very interesting reading. I haven't read them all (check the links) but the May 1970 CR contains the infamous report on the Bose 901. For anyone not familiar with this, CR reported that "individual instruments heard through the Bose system seemed to grow to gigantic proportions and tended to wander about the room." Bose did not take that lying down. They sued CU. I don't care for Bose speakers (except in my car) but they had and have FAR more business acumen than our dear departed favorites.
Speaking of which, that same issue noted that CR had previously praised the AR-3 they were unimpressed with the mid and tweet in the 3a, and said they preferred the 2-ax. They also had praise for the AR-4x. Interesting to compare the CR comments with those of some of us here.
Kent

Of the speakers in the 1976 CR ratings list with which I have some experience, I am not surprised the Avids scored at the top. The Avid 102 and 103 were Large Advent killers of the day, imo. They didn't have the popular "mid bass hump" or attractive cabinets of the Advents, but were very balanced and satisfying across the spectrum....and their original high compliance rubber woofer surrounds are usually still functioning perfectly today!

Roy

Hi Roy...nice to see the comfirmation of your thoughts on the Avids. With their quality drivers, strange that the cabs were done cheaply with the vinyl wrap. Would love to hear the 103 someday.

Kent....speaking of the 901's, I have read that the 4 1/2" mids in the 103 was the drivers that Bose chose to put in the 901's. Looking at pictures of the 103, I can see it sure looks like them.

As a young man I lived in Bergen county NJ. Just across the Hudson river from NYC.

My brother and I made frequent treks to listening rooms back in the "golden" days of stereo h-fi shops.