Bringing some AR15EGs back to life

Cornwall60s

Hi All. I’m a newbie to speaker restoration but have recently acquired a very cheap pair of AR15s that I’m looking to bring back to life.

52652028352_f3e1b9cabb_c.jpg%20

The woofers needed a refoam (which I have done since I took this picture), but sadly the tweeters are completely shot. I’ve tested them with a multimeter and nothing, completely flatlining. I’m in no great rush to get them up and running again, so while I play the (no doubt long) waiting game for a suitable donor with tweeters to turn up I thought I would have a bit of a tinker with the cabinets.

Cosmetically these are in really good shape, with just a slight bit of wear and tear and have cleaned up nicely. Both badges however need a touch up, and I wondered if anybody had painted theirs before and had any tips on suitable paint? I’m assuming really any good suitable matt black paint would work, but I thought I would check and see if anybody had any tips on what may work better than others?

52674800240_75b8ea95a0_c.jpg%20

Although I’m unlikely to do much more to the speakers at this stage until I eventually find some working tweeters, when/if I finally do would it be recommended to also go down the route of a recap?

52674823770_1d5980fa53_c.jpg%20

Thanks in advance for all your help!

Richard

Good Morning,

Well the tweeters might be repairable, RoyC and Chris1 may chime in on that. Did you remove the tweeters from their circuit and test them, that would be my suggestion. The black and red caps should be replaced because of value drifting. As for the badges paint(dull black) is usually works well. Of course good luck and keep us posted.

RickB