Sad day, can anyone help (ar-2ax repair)?

Guest kdrowdc

Guest kdrowdc

OK, so I want to say up front that I am a rank amateur here. I inherited a pair of 2ax's six months ago; they are vintage late-60s, and were not heavily used over much of that period (they were my dad's....).

They have sounded absolutely amazing (to me - again, I'm no expert), and I've been enjoying them greatly. but tonight I turned them on and it sure sounds like my left woofer is blown. The whole thing still sounds more or less OK, but the left woofer is definitely buzzing, moreso at lower volumes.

Three questions:

1) Did I do this by over-powering it with a modern amp? I am using a Denon AVR-2309. I do not recall hearing anything out of the ordinary last time we used them, but I wasn't listening too closely at the time.

2) If not, then does anyone know someone in the DC/Maryland area who could repair it for me? I've read everything there is to read here and, while I'm pretty ambitious, I've determined that opening and fixing this myself is beyond me. But I'd love to repair them as I love the sound and there is sentimental value as well.

3) Lastly (maybe this is the wrong place to ask) but, if i have to go "new", can anyone recommend a not-too-expensive current-day speaker that can hold a candle to these and have a similar type of sound?

Thanks!

Dan

Hello Dan and welcome!

To answer #3: No--you will not find modern speakers at any kind of affordable price to compare to the AR2ax. And as for #1--probably not. It is very unlikely that your Denon would blow these speakers (unless they were already compromised).

Here's my theory: Early 2ax's had cloth woofer surrounds. Later ones had foam. If yours have foam surrounds, the foam has DEFINITELY deteriorated and MUST be replaced. You may not have noticed a problem with the sound. Here's the bad news: Playing the speakers with shot surrounds could very well cause serious damage to the woofers.