$2 AR 4x pair, corroded pots, what to do?

Guest Pickles

Guest Pickles

I found a pair of AR 4x speakers for $2 at a rummage sale. One speaker appears to be in pristine condition, but the other appears to be the long lost twin. The second speaker may have come into contact with water, as the pot is green with corrosion, and stuck in place. The speaker terminals also have light surface rust.

The walnut cabinets are salvagable, no chipping or peeling, and nothing a little steel wool and tung oil can't fix. They also match my AR-3s, so ideally, I would like to restore this pair.

I've read some restoration projects that completely bypass the pot altogether, and others that simply replace the pot. Although I am not a new AR owner, I am new to AR restoration, so my questions are, what are the pros/cons of bypassing the pot? & How easy of a job is it to repair a pair of AR 4x speakers?

as always, thanks in advance.

Have you removed the pots and took them apart to take a look a their condition? If they are not completely corroded and you want to spend some time cleaning them then that is what you should do. I did the pots on my AR2ax's and they work like new but there was only a little bit of corrosion built up on the coils. Replacing them with new pots would be the second option with bypassing them the third. For me there is a great deal of satisfaction in knowing that some time and effort pays off in the end. I started to refurbish my AR's and today I got around to replacing the grill cloth and do they look good. I will take some pics of the "before and afters" and post tomorrow.

I found a pair of AR 4x speakers for $2 at a rummage sale. One speaker appears to be in pristine condition, but the other appears to be the long lost twin. The second speaker may have come into contact with water, as the pot is green with corrosion, and stuck in place. The speaker terminals also have light surface rust.