New member needs infos on AR-2ax

quebecois59

Hey there

I knew nothing about AR speakers before yesterday evening. I gave a hand to one of my neighbour to bring all sorts of scraps to the ecocenter. I realized that he had a pair of old speakers in his trailer. They were quite dirty and didn't look in very good shape at first. You threw lots of garbage in the bins at the ecocenter and then it was the speakers turn. I first removed the damaged grills (and threw them in the bin) to have a look at the speakers and even if I'm not an expert I thought that they might be of good quality.

I asked my neighbour if I could keep them to check for infos. Later in the evening I surfed on the web and discovered that AR-2ax speakers are pretty good ones! So I hooked them on my system one at a time. One of them was working well, it delivered a better sound than my usual speakers even if the woofer foam surround is toasted! The other AR speaker didn't perform very well, it sounded like the MID et HI speakers were not working at all, and the woofer surround is toasted too.

So I'm a bit ambivalent if I should keep and restore them or not. I went back to the ecocenter this morning to get the grills back even if they look terrible, so I'm ready to get involved in the process!

I already restored my JVC Zero 3 surrounds 2 years ago so I'm not a total newby in this kind of work, but I do need some good basic infos and advices to achieve the AR-2ax restoration. I haven't touched anything for the moment except that I gently removed the gyproc dust off of the tweeters and Mid-ranges with a toothbrush.

English is not my first language so please take it in consideration.

I read a couple of threads and realized that I don't know what "drivers", "pots" and "caps" refer to.

Thanks in advance.

Francois

• Replies 117
  • Created
  • Last Reply

bienvenue Francois