New Large Advents refoam question

Mystery

Got used NLA's with bullnose woffers and surrounds are gone.

Ordered a kit from Rick Cobb and it's on the way.

I've never done refoam before.

The kit supposedly comes with a CD that has 30hz tone.

Using that, there is no need to cut dust cap as it aligns the voice coil.

My question is, how loud should the 30 hz tone be?

Should it move the woofer little bit or just be unnoticeable?

The NLA woofers are rated from 32hz and up. Will playing 30hz tone damage them?

Thanks for sharing your experiences.

post-119960-0-60754700-1334173678_thumb.

The resonant frequency of the woofer is lower than 30 hz, so the test tone will work fine. Adjust the volume so you can hear it and notice the woofer cone being centered.

To re-assure yourself futher, do a search on youtube of refoaming. I'm sure you'll find a number of good videos of folks doing exactly what you are planning to do.

Good luck!

Refoam in progress...

Cleaned old surrounds last night and glued the inner lip of the surrounds.

Left them overnight and today morning glued the surrounds to the baskets.

Few issues:

1. That glue gave me headache. grumpy.gif

2. I glued the inner lip of the surrounds too much deep in the cone. I tried to glue the surrounds convex area all the way upto the cone. I should have left some of the inner lip beyond the cone but it's so small and hard to decide how much to glue. It's not that bad as the outer ring still goes to basket all around.

Lesson learned: don't use all the inner ring to glue in to the cone.

3. Instruction mentioned to play 30hz tone loud enough to move woofer between 1/8 - 1/4" but I found it very difficult to get that accurate movement. I just guesstimated looking at the cone from under the basket.

I didn't turn the volume to get too much excursion as per instruction and also I read the post here after I started refoaming. :(

Hopefully, it's centered.