OLA crossover help please

drmoron

This is my first post to this group, but I have been reading a LOT for a few years and thank you all for the great source of information!

I currently own (and love) 4 OLA's stacked and a pair of smaller Advents in another room. The smaller ones I replaced the entire crossover when I had them apart to veneneer the cabs... unstained walnut... much nicer! Crossovers pretty straight forward. The OLA woofers have been re-foamed and one needed the coil re-worked (Thanks again Carl!) Mine are the 2-16 cap and 3ohm resistor variety with the large inductor attached to the back of the cab and the red and white "button" inductors. I am NOT a full techie but understand the aging process of caps. So as a minimum I would "assume" I should replace all the caps and resistors. I can handle soldering parts , BUT do not own, nor care to own, a multimeter for testing.

Question 1: should I replace the inductors as well, as I am already in the cabs soldering?

Question #2: After reading and reading I "think" that I have understood that there are the 3 crossover versions YET the woofers and tweeters did NOT change. IF this is true then would it not be possible to use any of the 3 crossover designs regardless of what the original was? (assuming also replacement of ALL components including inductors). IF SO then which crossover version works best?

Please... while appreciate the guru's and the ultra high tech talk, can someone splain dis to me so a "average" guy can grok it without raising doubts in my average brain?

Thanks!

David

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Red and White button inductors did not handle much power,

so it would be prudent to measure the DC resistance of them

before finishing the job. The Red one is about 2.2 ohms.

I believe that the OLA is the best sounding of them all, and

I have A/B compared OLA, NLA, and the 5002.

The drivers were all new in the NLA, the woofers were