Problems with the AR-3a, tweeter upgrade, & need info on other AR models; building the perfect AR speaker

XP-15B

For years I have lived with a pair of vintage, AR-3a loudspeakers. I have been experimenting with high-end and vintage audio since approximately 1996 or 1997, having run through a ridiculously long and impressive list of speakers, vintage to modern, from the sublime to the ridiculous. What I have loved about the AR-3a is that the overall picture is smooth, even-handed, and highly musical. They are not the perfect speaker. In fact, speakers in general, represent a series of compromises. It's just a question of which compromises you are willing to live with. For me, I am driven crazy by uncontrolled resonance in a driver. This phenomenon will kill a speaker for me instantly. I'm talking about what happens during peaks in the music or challenging passages. Most loudspeakers have a weak point where they will break up and get out of control, resulting in the characteristic shriek or yelping sound. Nearly all dynamic speakers do this at some point. Horn systems are the worst, of course. The speaker that I've found, thus far, that seems to have the best behaved drivers is the AR-3a. As I said, though; the AR-3a has it's problems as well:

1) The original tweeter lacks refinement and sophistication on a number of levels. A suitable replacement is necessary. I have solved this issue with a SEAS Excel series model(as used in Harbeth Monitor 30) that was a drop-in replacement and seems to integrate fantastically into the system. I am happy with the results, thought at some point I would like to know how to modify the crossover so that the tweeter integrates according to the original design of the speaker. But with no crossover mods, just using the level control, it sounds vastly superior to the original and it's smooth as silk.