Restoration/repairing 4XA

arcss

Sorry for any bad English... Google Translate 🙂

I recently bought these speakers for €30. I have no experience with these speakers, but saw a nice project in them. I don't know if I should regret buying them.

My findings and ideas:
- 1 tweeter has been replaced by a random one by the previous owner. The tweeter hole is eaten out.
- Would it be an original front? Most on google are beige/white.
- I can make completely new enclosures.
- I can renew 1 baffle

Simply put, I don't know how to get started, any help is welcome 🙂

(where I bought them there were a few more where the housing was more damaged with white/beige fronts for €25, should I take the risk and try to put them together?)

IMG_20230128_203014.jpg

IMG_20230128_202827.jpg

IMG_20230128_203018.jpg

IMG_20230128_203224.jpg

I got the other couple today. The tweeters of these have the wiring along the back. I strongly doubt what I will do. New enclosures? New baffles?
New  ...? Could it be that the pair on the right had renewed baffles? They are more intense black and other tweeters/mids.

IMG_20230130_193855.thumb.jpg.95c03a72140aba562728c48e1cf98f94.jpgIMG_20230130_194157.thumb.jpg.f6ee4a70d500d23aed61568ab453d26e.jpg

1 hour ago, Aadams said:

Have you verified the tweeters and woofers operate?  If they are all working, you got a good deal for 55€.

The pair with back wired tweeters are later versions.

I just checked and everything works.
The replaced tweeter does not sound nice, the other 3 are okay.
I have the impression that the decrease/increase button does not change anything. I don't plan to sell them immediately, but I do plan to upgrade and restore them to their glory. I just don't know yet if this will be in new housings 🙂 

The pair on the right are later versions with backwired tweeters. They were painted darker when made because the grills were removable.