New to LSTs

jnolan5784

I am relatively new to this, and have been searching for a pair of LSTs for some time. This is the first pair of LST's I have seen much less heard. I restored my father's pair of early 3a's, and have been so impressed with the results that I wanted to get into it more. 

This pair came from the estate of the original owner. The foam has been recently replaced. The best I can figure from the serial numbers (2700's), these were likely 74-75 vintage, although they might be later than that due to the rear wiring. It's my desire to keep these all original and do everything I can to make them sound the best that they can. A couple of questions:

1. Given that I do not want to go with external tweeters, what is a good amp wattage that will let them shine, without jeopardizing the integrity of the original tweeters. I know this depends on a lot of things, but I listen to classical, vocal, etc and am conservative on the volume. I tend toward McIntosh, but am not afraid to spend what is necessary to get good results. 

2. Placement is always key, and against the short wall firing down the long axis is where I plan to put them, but are there any plans for stands available out there, and what is an optimal height off the floor. I am handy with woodworking, and was planning on building my own. 

3. Any other advise on such things as fuses, settings (1-6, I think most people have them at 5 or 6), banana plugs/spades, wire gauge, or any impressions on this pair. 

Thanks so much, I have really learned a lot from everyone's comments. 

IMG_7022.jpeg

IMG_7023.jpeg

IMG_7024.jpeg

IMG_7025.jpeg

You might want to contact Frank Marsi, who is the resident expert on the LST. He uses Phase Linear amplifiers with his system, which I believe is what Audio magazine utilized in their 1972 review of the speaker, with excellent results.