Best AR 3 way with 12" woofer..

Wally

What is the consensus of you folks that have had the opportunity to review many or all of these.

What was the pinnacle of the development of the AR-3?

Was it the 10pi, 58s, 303, AR3a or what? (I guess the LST qualifies as a 3 way)

Please give details of your listening observations and technical reasons for your selection.

>I also have heard that some people think that it sounds better than more expensive AR-10Pi.<

I can definitely understand that. I'm a fan of the 10pi, but the two speakers do sound different. From things said on this forum and just looking at the crossover, there is every reason to think that the AR-11 should be superior to the 10pi.

I can't have an opinion on the best 12"er, though. I suspect the 303 is the best, but I haven't heard those or the 3a Improved.

Bret

Yeah, how about the AR-LST? It's about 1 1/2 more ofthe AR3a woofer's total output. Serious I've been listening to the AR3a woofer since 1972!

Go ahead ask me! I've been a loyal AR-3a woofer lover since then. Mine are still sounding as if they're new. Better then most of which has come since those early years. I stake all of my years of listening to these woofers since! My opinion, stay with any AR-3a woofer, be it the AR-3a or the LST and you're as cool as it gets! For this amount of money, there's none better!

Frank Marsi