AR-2ax - pots vs l-pads

Michael T

I recently restored a pair of AR-2axs and found my pots to be in questionable condition. So rather than take the chance of putting it all together and having them not work and to save money over buying new pots I purchased and installed l-pads. I've been using the speakers for a couple of months and they sound great.

A couple days ago I had to repair one of my woofers so I decided since I had it out and I still had the pots I would try installing them just to see how they worked. The pots work fine. But what really surprised me was the difference they made. There is better control of the driver levels and I was able to dial in an overall sound that I couldn't get with the l-pads. 

I will definitely be changing the other speaker over tomorrow. 

Just wanted to share my personal experience in case anyone is interested.

1 hour ago, bfastr said:

I rebuilt my original pots and decided to keep things original in spite of the obvious long term issues the pots will probably pose vs

Did you use dialectic grease on the pots? It will help extend the life somewhat.

Yes I did, I guess what I am saying is that the thought of having to re-open the speaker and address any pot problems doesn't scare me off,  and truthfully, if they go another 50 years they sure wont be my problem!! 

• 1 year later...

Hi there guys, very new to this post, I have just brought a pair of these AR2ax speakers, haven't received them yet, or heard them yet,, last owner says proberbly worth doing the L/pads, in these speakers given the age, looked all over the place for replacement L/ pads, 8 ohms, 100w, is this right values, but after reading some of the comments on here, with what the new L/pads sound like as apposed to the original ones , I think this has made up my mind,  for me, i think I will give cleaning up the old pots a go, with vinegar & salt I think it was,?? Any helpful hints would greatly help.