Mystery KLH floorstanding speakers

Goldjazz

Hi Goldjazz and welcome to the CSP!

Those certainly are speakers we'd be interested in. Take a look in the Library:

http://www.classicspeakerpages.net/library/klh/klh-1_series_klh-1_klh-2_kl/

I have no experience with the KLH "Computer Controlled" series but others here do and hopefully they will chime in.

-Kent

Rather rare speakers, but not sure how they might perform without the ABC (analog bass computer). They could be a real treat to own. Take a look at this link if you can - - it is from a German website, and if it is not readable already, it should become readable when you use Google translate.

http://www.hifi-studio.de/hifi-klassiker/KLH/KLH1.htm

Also this:

http://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/klh-1s-with-bass-computer.444762/

KLH-1 translate.jpg

KLH-1 ABC.jpg

If you own the speakers, there is an ABC on ebay now eBay item number: 331832517381

I'd grab it! (I have no connection with this sale)

-Kent

PS: Just noticed your question "are these worth getting?" I'd say YES IF the price seems fair to you AND you buy the ABC.

The drivers are built like tanks - - - here's a pic of the small woofer (6-1/2", maybe?) found in the baby brother KLH-3 and KLH-4 - - - cast metal basket and massive magnet, poly cone, rubber surround.

Thx to JKent for posting that - - the pics in that listing are less than stellar, but it's the first time I've been able to peek inside an ABC. My little KLH-4's are the only model in this family that do not use the computer.

woofer pics.jpg

Hi all, Thanks so much for the replies