Amp for bi-amping AR9's

Joel

I am using a Dynaco 416 to drive my AR9's. I am thinking of finding another amp to Bi-amp the speakers. How many watts are recommended for the other amp? The Dynaco is 350 watts into 4 ohms.

What section would the Dynaco be better for- the upper or lower? I have a chance to get a Marantz 140 amp at 75 watts- is this too small?

Any other recommendations are welcome, but I would like the look of the amp to fit the styling of the Dynaco (Silver Face, etc.)

Thanks.

-Joel

post-115236-0-38413200-1376579995_thumb.

Hey Joel

Awesome set-up! I have no experience with bi-amping but will bet the Marantz will look really cool with your Dynaco. And I've always admired Bryston. What's their warranty? Is it 25 years?

Based solely on what I have read, I believe you want more power for the low end, and once you take the woofers out of the equation the Marantz should be fine for the upper end but again, this is only my understanding and not first-hand experience. Just wanted to comment on how cool your system is (and will be!)

Kent

Thanks Kent,

I love the Bryston 1B preamp. I got it a few months ago, and it had an issue with the power button. I sent it to a Bryston service center, and they fixed the button, replaced the power cord, cleaned and recapped it. The warranty is 20 years, but this one is a bit older. The total cost with shipping was $225.

-Joel

Hi Joel,

Ideally identical amps for the upper and lower would be best.

With your options Kent is correct. You want more power for the lower end. And the Marantz should work ok but don't forget the "Lower Midrange" will draw some juice too.

The Dynaco 416 is a sweet looking amp for sure.

I have my 9's biampped with two Carver TFM-45's.

You'll enjoy your 9's biampped. It's the way to go with them.

Good luck!

John