Should I do it?

glenz66

Hello most gracious and knowledgeable keepers of AR speakers.

This is a first for me. I started a quest to find the perfect speakers for my refurbished Thorens TD-160 / Linn Basik / Shure V15 Type IV. In my journey I found a repair shop that just opened in my town. The grills were off and I was just enamored by the looks of the speakers. I did not look at anything else or ask questions. I just bought them. And I don't know if I will ever put the speaker grills back on. I then looked on line to find out what I just did. AR-2ax was the name of my speakers. After searching for awhile I came across "The Classic Speaker Pages" and after reading these scrolls of wisdom I found what I had just bought and what I would need to drive them. I then ignored that advice for I fell in love with the looks of a Sansui AU-555a / TU-666 combo. I asked no questions. I just bought it.

OK. Since this is my first time with all of this stuff it has been bugging me that I then ignored the advice for high watts per channel to drive the AR-2ax speakers. Am I really getting their full potential? I pushed my feelings to the side and bought an Adcom GFA-555 Power Amplifier. It has just arrived. I am scared. My only option it to turn my Sansui AU-555a into a preamplifier. Should I do it?

Thank you to all who may be able to help me understand what it is I am about to do or not do.

Ar 20WPC the Sansui is a little low for 2ax's, but in a small room like a bedroom or a home office should be ok if the volume is kept to a reasonable level. At 200WPC the Adcom has more than enough for any room you'd ever put the 2ax's in and any volume level the speaker can safely handle. And your Sansui amplifier does have the necessary pre out/in jumpers to enable it to act as a proper preamp. You need to use something for a pre with the Adcom, why not that?