AR bashing ??

charger3834

I realize that this topic may be a bit controversial, However, I want to address it anyway. I also want to state that I am not an industry expert; I am just one man with a concern.

Why aren’t AR speakers given the respect they deserve in the high-end audio press? I have never seen a historical article with photos, specs etc. In fact some of the references suggest that they are outdated, somewhat flawed designs. I remember reading Stereophile’s review of the top 100 historical products. The AR-3a just barely made the list and some derogatory, subjective comments were made. To the best of my recollection, I don’t think these were even valid arguments !! I wish I still had the article. In all fairness, the AR XA turntable did score high on the list, but not without criticism of its tonearm. These magazines will then proceed to give some new “delightful” little speaker a stellar review. Last time I attended live music it had a bottom end below 50HZ, and the frequencies were not beamed ahead to a 3-foot sweet spot!

Why does everyone get down on their knees in the presence of a McIntosh 275 or a Marantz Model 9. Are these outdated too ?

Like it or not AR made profound contributions to the industry, and their sound is still incredibly lifelike. Their designs have in my mind stood the test of time.

Guest SteveG

Brad,