Replacement woofer for AR-4x

Brian

Looking for a good replacement woofer for an abused AR-4x. I found a replacement on Ebay from Vintage-AR but it appears different from the original in several ways. For starters, the cone on the original is ribbed while the Vintage-AR replacement is smooth. The replacement also seems to have a ceramic magnet while I'm pretty sure the originals were Alnico. The surrounds also appear to be foam rather than cloth. And all that is fine with me as long as the replacement can match the sound of the original. In the the guitar amp world, I know that differences like these can greatly affect the tone of the speaker. But I'm kind of new to the hi-fi world. Does anyone have experience with this particular replacement speaker? Has anyone done an A/B comparison? Or can you recommend something better? (ie - more accurate?)

Many Thanks!!

Hi and welcome to CSP

Larry (Vintage AR) is an honest guy and if you ask him your questions he'll give a straight answer. AR used a couple of different woofers for the 4x, but I'm sure they all had cloth surrounds. Here are some photos of original AR4x woofers--all different.You should probably replace them as a pair. You could post your need in the Wanted/For Sale section here and see if any member has a woofer to match yours.

Kent

post-101828-0-50783900-1295900458_thumb.

post-101828-0-55291600-1295900469_thumb.

Thanks Kent! and nice avatar, btw ; )