KLH 23 - The next step

draftingmonkey

OK,

So I broke down and traveled to San Diego and took a listen to. I keep hearing about how good stacked Advents sound so out of curiosity I had the guy stack the 23's. They sounded very nice as single pairs but stacked, even better. So I broke down and ended up bringing them home. Almost in perfect condition. This guy was the second owner and took very good care of them as did the original owner. The wife even commented about how nice they look and now I have to decide where and with which system I want to drive these speakers. I guess that is half the fun, finding the best room and system; and the other half is enjoying the music.

And the hunt goes on...

James

Guest farzhan

Good for you, I've read the accounts of many happy 23 owners on another forum, particularly stacked. One guy said he thought they were an upgraded 6. I'm waiting for a pair of 6's myself, they should arrive tuesday. Enjoy! And hello everybody, I'm a novice and probably will post only a little, thanks

Guest ddavejb

I think you made a good investment in those 23's too. My father has a pair he's owned since new around 1970. They look and sound fantastic. I have a great(later, non epoxied) pair of Model Sixes(along with a pair of Seventeens). I'm hard pressed to tell a difference in the sound between the Sixes and the 23's, but those 23 cabinets are pretty neat. Definitely fancier than the Model Six, which are still good looking speakers in my opinion.

Picked up a Marantz 1530 and a Sansui 4900Z today (plus some speakers: sansui SP-2000, Pioneer CS-66 and some brand named RTR Model 2 Series III). Anyway I was wondering if the Sansui with a rating of 200W would drive the 23's in a stacked setup. Or what kind of power would I need?

Thanks

James

Guest farzhan