Got a pair of Snell Type J II speakers

JKent

For free! A neighbor was getting rid of them so right place/right time.

I've never worked on Snells before and there's not a whole lot of info that I can find. So I fired these up and one sounded just wonderful. The other has an occasional buzz, which the neighbor had told me about. Apparently Snell advised against re-foaming and instead tried to sell customers entire new woofers AND crossovers (!) when the foam rotted. My neighbor, being a sensible guy decided that was ridiculous and decided to re-foam the woofers himself. Unfortunately, that was not his strength. So both woofers look bad and one makes a "raspberries" sound sometimes. Otherwise they're in great shape.

I think the cone is poly (edit: they’re coated paper) and the new foams were attached with the nitrile based glue, so although I've refoamed a lot of drivers I'm a little hesitant about this. Will update when I've made progress.

Hope there are still some Snell guys around to give advice!

Kent

Snell 00001.jpg

Snell 00002.jpg

Snell 00004.jpg

Snell 00008.jpg

Edited by JKent

Snell made some fine speakers. One thing they were known for was bundling caps. This was for two reasons: (1) to reach a particular uF and (2) to attain a particular ESR (equivalent series resistance). You might find that the bundle of caps in one speaker do not match what's in the other.

Thanks David. I know the original owner and he said he only re-foamed the woofers. I will however be looking at the xo's

Looking for some input here. Haven't decided yet whether to tackle the buzzing woofer myself but I pulled one crossover today. Snell was known for "bundling" capacitors as can be seen here. I'm not going to bother with the film bundle, lower right but there are 3 NPE bundles I think I'll replace.