Help identifying AR 4x woofers

DMRanney

Hi all - newbie here!

A friend sold me a pair of AR 4x speakers for $50 each as a refurbishment/learning project. They work but don't sound all that great right now. I pulled the grilles off and right off the bat I'm puzzled by what I see. The two woofers are obviously very different. The right one looks pretty original and crusty, with the cloth ring, and is mounted slightly recessed from the panel. The left one looks almost new, with the foam ring, and is mounted out of plane with the panel: from flush on one side to about 1/8th proud on the other side.

My friend says he purchased them new as a pair while on leave from the Air Force in Tokyo in the early seventies. He has no memory of ever having one of the woofers replaced, although it's possible he's mistaken. The older-looking one is serial # 364181, and the newer-looking one is serial #FX329797. Is there any way his recollection of purchasing them new as a pair back then holds up? Is it plausible that both woofers are the originals?

Other differences between the two speakers are: The right one has slightly lighter toned walnut veneer, very slightly lighter colored and heavier-feeling grille cloth, and a crudely crafted pressboard grille frame as opposed to neatly crafted black-stained wood. 

At a casual first listen, both woofers sound fine - it's the midrange that sounds really muddy and the pots seem completely nonfunctional. I'm just wondering if I should just shrug off the woofer puzzlement or worry about having the woofers match?

DSC01212.png

DSC01203.png

DSC01213.png

DSC01202.png

13 hours ago, DMRanney said: