Crossover upgrade. New components running in. How long?

Kuja

Hello everybody,

I just have finished a restoration of my new (actually 23 years old :-)) AR98LS speakers.

This is my first project of this kind...

I replaced all old capacitors in the xover with polypropylene (ICEL, made in Italy, PHC type).

I also replaced the original wiring with Van den Hul SCS 12 cables (http://www.vandenhul.com/cable/scs-12.htm).

For the tweeters I used double runs of teflon insulated pure silver wire.

All rotten surrounds were replaced too.

Restoration details are here:

http://www.kujucev.com/ar98ls/ar98.htm

What would be the expected runnining-in time?

How long I must wait before I can fully enjoy the sound of my freshly renovated speakers?

How will the sound change over time?

Thanks in advance,

Aleksandar

Aleksandar,

>>I just have finished a restoration of my new (actually 23 years old ) AR98LS speakers.

This is my first project of this kind...<<

Congrats! Excellent job on your restoration. The cork/rubber veneer on the front baffle is an interesting look. I'm wondering if that material will have a similar effect to felt at absorbing acoustic diffraction.

>>I replaced all old capacitors in the xover with polypropylene (ICEL, made in Italy, PHC type).<<

I haven't used ICEL capacitors. My answer below is based on my experience with Solen and North Creek Zen polypropylene caps.

>>What would be the expected runnining-in time?<<

You need to allow at least 24 hours of "run-in" time on the capacitors. This can be done by listening to music or by sending a test signal (pink noise) to the speakers for a 24 hour period. If you are doing the "run-in" by listening to music over several sessions, the longer each "run-in" session, the better.

>>How long I must wait before I can fully enjoy the sound of my freshly renovated speakers?<<