The Advent 1 Repairs

blachool

Hi folks,

Bought a pair of Advent 1 speakers from a thrift store little while ago for $12. The imgur album below shows just one of the speakers (the one that needs more work done).

https://imgur.com/a/yTQAc1A

After the photos were taken, I ended up swapping out the large woofer with one I bought on eBay for $30. Besides refoaming them (I'll be buying the kit from Simply Speakers - FSK-10A), is there anything else I should look into replacing in these while fixing them up? Any suggestions on how to clean and possibly remove the cloth grill stains?

I'm new to dealing with audio equipment repairs, so any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!

If you're replacing speakers in the Advent cabinets i would have a suggestion "if' the speakers you purchased have a funny looking tweeter LEAVE IT! its possibly a "fried egg tweeter' that the Advent creator mr. Henry Kloss designed, the Advents i have are stamped and signed by Kloss as being manufactured on 6/74 if i recall correctly ,those tweeters are invaluable to us modern day Adventors

Hi blachool, and welcome to the forum. Welcome to fr3e, too! Aside from the usual woofer re-foam, the most typical component that gets restoration attention in 45 year-old speakers is the crossover capacitor. It may or may not require replacement, but it is a simple and inexpensive process that gives peace of mind for years to come. See attached link.

Cleaning the grille cloth can be a delicate operation, but many people have had varying degrees of success using various household cleaners, including upholstery cleaners or spot removers for carpets or simple soap/water solutions. I am fairly certain that your Advent cloth is a synthetic fiber, and you should try to keep the rigid grille frames as dry as possible.   

I'll add a welcome to both too.

Ditto on replacing the capacitor.