KLH Model 22A crossover

Norman Nicolai

I’m trying to replace the capacitors in a KLH Model 22A crossover unit. 

The first two photos are the same capacitor, only rolled down to reveal more info on the type of capacitor. It has three wires, two on one side, and one on the other. One of the wires is connected to what I believe is a resistor, shown in the third and last photo.

1. Can I purchase a replacement for this capacitor on Parts Express? If so, specifically what should I be looking for?

2. Should I replace the resistor also? Again, what specifically should I order?

if it is not perfectly apparent from my questions, I am a total novice, so any replies should be worded as if you are talking to a three year old.

BTW, before I took the speakers apart, they did not sound too bad. However, from everything I have read on this Forum and on others, the capacitors on KLH speakers always need to be replaced, being approx thirty years old, which is why I am attempting a replacement, hoping for even better sound from the speakers.

Other than sanding and oiling the cabinets, the only other repair I am considering is is re-doping the fabric on the woofer surrounds.

Thanks!

592513B8-EDDB-4CB4-B2E4-1C4C26E53B85.jpeg

2A7955C0-82B4-4AD2-B342-BD3D3CFFEA13.jpeg

194D5D0D-6DE1-4EA8-9233-49C66FD1C926.jpeg

Yep, it can be a bit confusing. It appears that you have one of those dreaded black/red Temple caps - - or more precisely, a dual cap containing both 8uF and 16uF values. You will need two replacement caps for each speaker cabinet, and I assume the BLUE wire (16uF) goes thru the woofer circuit and the PLAIN wire (8uF) plus the 3-ohm series resistor are connected to the tweeter. Is there an inductor coil in this speaker?.....and please include a frontal pic showing drivers.

Read here for some more discussion.

https://audiokarma.org/forums/index.php?threads/klh-22a-speaker-score.720273/ 

Here are some photos of the drivers and the inductor coil that you asked for.