Refoam AR-9 woofer

Mez

Well, I re-foamed my AR9 12" woofers last weekend.  This is the AR-9s I bought from the original owner that included the shipping boxes and manuals delivered in the boxes.  I already replaced the caps on the upper frequency cross overs so I started playing them. I felt some of the bass response was not as low or loud as it should be and after moving them around in my living room, it really didn't improve.

The woofers were re-foamed before I bought them 2 months ago and looked fine but after doing the research here, I concluded the wrong foam surrounds were used.  They were the stiffer, narrower roll and they were cut and spliced together to make them fit.  They were neatly glued, so whoever did them took there time.

I felt there was something wrong with bass response.  The bass didn't seem to go as deep and lacked that "punch" I hear with my set of New Large Advents.

I bought the bigger roll surrounds from a company in Canada off of eBay.  They fit much better and had the angle at the edge on the paper cone side.

After all done, one of the voice coils rubbed. Crap!!!  During the first try, I used small blocks of foam to prop up the paper cone so I could glue the new surround but apparently it pulled it to one side and cocked the voice coil.  So I removed the dust cap over the voice coil, shimmed the coil with plastic strips to get it re-centered, and carefully cut the glue between the new surround and the metal frame to re-position it before re-glued the surround to the frame again.  I re-glued the voice coil dust cap and tested it.  No rubbing. Hurray!  By the way, removing and reinstalling the voice coil dust cap was super easy.

I re-installed the woofer and played some heavy bass tracks (Metallica) and noticed the bass response was deeper and that "punch" was there.  Much improved.

So, what I learned from this forum was to use the correct foam surrounds and to shim the voice coil.  I thank you all.