Restoring KLH Model Thirty-One Speakers

gelid

I am restoring a pair of Model Thirty-One speakers and discovered right away that the woofers don't look original.

Can someone please tell me if this woofer is possibly the original for this KLH Model Thirty-One?

I don't believe it is, but I'm new to vintage speakers and know manufacturers sometimes substitute components for various reasons. Both speakers have this same unmarked woofer. No name... no number... nothing printed or stamped on them anywhere. They look nothing like what I have seen.

IMG_6155.JPGIMG_6156.JPG

That's a replacement. The original (according to an auction listing) looks like
most KLH woofers from that period- cloth surround, big square magnet.

s-l1600.jpg

s-l1600 (1).jpg

34 minutes ago, dxho said:

That's a replacement. The original (according to an auction listing) looks like
most KLH woofers from that period- cloth surround, big square magnet.

Thanks for responding!

There were two 8" x 8-ohm KLH woofers posted there by two different sellers; Last night I bought that one in your photo, and after reading this I just bought the other one.

The tweeters look original, though they didn't seem to be working. The capacitor and the other component in the wiring (sorry... I'm still learning!) both look new, and there is no physical signs of damage like on the woofers, so I'm hoping that will get sorted out when I install the original woofers and figure out the wiring.

That value of resistors is apparently a requirement of the crossover. It's not an
issue for the impedance of the speakers.

Hey gelid. A belated welcome!

While you're in there please take a photo of the capacitors. If they are the black Callins or Temple brand with red ends and red leads they are junk and need to be repaired.

-Kent

So, all the items needed for the restore project are ordered:

* Two 8-inch, 8-ohm KLH vintage woofers. One was specified as being
out of a KLH Thirty-One and the other didn't specify any model, but