AR-4x cabinet

Joel

A friend just picked a pair of AR-4x speakers. One of them is in great shape- woofer, tweeter both work. Cabinet and grill looks really good. The other speaker's tweeter doesn't work. I'm hoping new cap and l-pad will fix it.

The cabinet has some separation in the top corners. Is this an issue? Can I just put filler in the opening? Is there another way to fix them, or should I just leave them alone? The particle board looks good, so I don't think it is water damage.

-Joel

post-115236-0-91292400-1390884652_thumb.

post-115236-0-99936300-1390884662_thumb.

post-115236-0-49250400-1390884671_thumb.

Hi Joel,

I too am working on a set of 4x's, and thought I would share my thoughts on your post. Let me start by saying I am a newbie on this forum, and in this hobby for that matter. My background however is more geared towards the wood and construction side of things, rather than the circuitry and engineering side.

With that being said, I believe your speaker has undergone some water damage along it's journey. These (and many other) speakers were often used as plant stands, and frequently subjected to even slight spills. Your picture doesn't clearly show it, but I suspect the subject surface is a top face of the speaker. Actually your picture does show the particle board has been compromised, and does show evidence of being effected by moisture.