new member and KLH 31

expandsoundtonite

Hello, I just found your awesome forum and it is just the resource I was searching for.

I happened across a pair of seemingly solid speakers, KLH Model thirty one, thanks to a very gooood friend of mine whom I'm very close to, that doesn't livein the state at the moment.

Anywho, My first search across the web yielded nothing. I am a musician multi-instrumentalist, but definitely do not know enough about speakers even if I've been learning about sound lately.

These speakers had such weird plugs I was just dumbfounded at first, the dual screw-in type plugs on each speaker. From my browsing of this forum I've learned I suppose I need some sort of receiver to play the speakers and would appreciate some further explanation from any kind souls?

I can post pics but there may have been some modification at some point as the other model thirty-ones I have come across didn't have a black speaker thing protruding at the top part of the speaker cloth but mine do. Perhaps upgraded parts, because I believe they are pretty old. Any additional info on these speakers would be wonderful!!!!

Thanks friends.

Hi and welcome. Yes--a picture is worth a thousand words so please do post pictures of the speaker terminals and the "black speaker thing." A photo of the front, with grille off, and of the back would be helpful. Try to size the photos to around 50 to 100K if possible.

They are later KLH classic speakers and were inexpensive but they have good woofers with cloth surrounds. Tha cabinets are woodgrain vinyl, a cost-cutting move. Once you have them hooked up you can decide how the sound is. Many speakers from this era need new capacitors (not a big deal).

And yes, you do need to connect them to a receiver or amplifier in order to play them. Feel free to ask questions and please keepus posted.

Kent