Dynaco Questions

Ben Israel Thompson

I love records and good gear. Unfortunately, I don't really know much about great record players, speakers, or pre-amps/receivers. Of the little research I have done, Dynaco A-25's seem to be a solid choice for those on a budget (like me). Is this true? I don't want to spend a ton of money (ideally somewhere between $100-150) on speakers. I've heard that for playing vinyl, vintage speakers tend to sound better. Is this true? Any other (or better) recommendations for someone like me?

Also, I know it's off topic, but my record player is a fairly cheap one from the '70s. Is it a good idea to get one of the $30 phono pre-amps instead of a receiver? Like I said, I'm a total beginner when it comes to this stuff, but I'm definitely interested.

Thanks so much!

Ben Israel Thompson

Welcome Ben!

Well, this IS the classic speaker pages, so if you ask most people here they will say "yes", your records will sound best on classic New England speakers. And given your budget, YES!! the vintage speakers will sound MUCH MUCH better than anything you could buy new for a c-note.

Of course, there may be some issues. Many vintage speakers have foam woofer surrounds, and they deteriorate over time. You can replace them, if you are into DIY, for about $25 but it takes patience and a little skill.

Some classic speakers have cloth surrounds, so the foam is not an issue. Some newer ones, like Avids, have rubber surrounds. Also not an issue.

Sometimes the capacitors inside the speakers need to be replaced. Most of us here do it as a matter of course but in most cases it's not "really" necessary.

Dynaco speakers are excellent. I don't know about the woofer surrounds but someone here will.