AR-3 woofer

ninohernes

My woofers are making a strange sound. Ever since I replaced the crossovers in these speakers, the woofer, during strong bass passages has made a sound much like a woodpecker, a clicking sound. What is this? Is there anything that can be done to stop this sound? It’s quite distracting when listening, and the woofers have never done this before.

Guest dogmeninreno

>My woofers are making a strange sound. Ever since I replaced

>the crossovers in these speakers, the woofer, during strong

>bass passages has made a sound much like a woodpecker, a

>clicking sound. What is this? Is there anything that can be

>done to stop this sound? It’s quite distracting when

>listening, and the woofers have never done this before.

Well, while I am not an expert, I would first replace the cap in the woofer circuit. Stand by because i think you will get lots of suggestions from the forum!! Dale in Reno.....Are you sure that the woofers are ok?

Dale;

I don't believe that the AR3 has any caps in the woofer's signal path.

To me it sounds like the drivers might have been subject to poor quality refoaming job that did not get them properly aligned. This is jsut a guess.

Are the wookers original? Have they been refoamed? Did they get plugged into 120VAC 60Hz? It is pretty hard to damage an AR 12" woofer.

Nigel

>My woofers are making a strange sound. Ever since I replaced

>the crossovers in these speakers, the woofer, during strong

>bass passages has made a sound much like a woodpecker, a

>clicking sound. What is this? Is there anything that can be

>done to stop this sound? It’s quite distracting when

>listening, and the woofers have never done this before.