The Class of the Field

Steve F

I have been communicating with Mark recently regarding historical AR literature that I've sent him to scan and post on the site. I have virtually all the lit (not ALL, unfortunately--some water in my basement in 1991 took a few treasures) from 1965 through 1990 and I've been sending it to him for a few months now, one product family/series at a time. (One at a time, so just in case the mail loses a package, all of my irreplaceable literature doesn't get lost at once.)

But the best literature of all, and I think the real classic of the bunch, is the famous 1970-1971 full line catalog that had the 3a, 5, 2ax/2x, 4x, 6, and the amp, tuner, and receiver. This was the catalog that had all the celebrity endorsements (Von Karajan and Don Ellis for the 3a, Arthur Feidler of the Boston Pops for the 5, etc.) as well as some great shots of the 5 being used for sound reinforcement for rock concerts at the NY Museum of Modern Art.

This was the time period when AR was such an incredibly classy company that when they quoted a magazine review on the 3a ("...in our opinion, one of the two finest speaker systems available today..."), they actually put an asterisk on the quote and said on the bottom of the page "The other is the KLH-12."

Can you imagine such a thing happening today? Or ever? Would Sony ever pay Panasonic a compliment in their own literature? Would a Toyota Camry brochure ever mention how good a car the Honda Accord is?

But AR, right in their own brochure (packed in the cartons that my 2ax's came in, no less!) gave KLH credit for producing a great speaker. AR was a once-in-a-lifetime company, and I feel privileged to have to have enjoyed their products during the company's heyday. We'll never see their likes again.

Steve F.