An AR-3a response curve

Rich W

post-101134-1241457298.jpg

Given all the debate regarding reverberant field response of AR speakers, I thought it would be good to share my own test results with the forum. My post is intended to give other forum members, who may not have access to test equipment, an idea of what they can expect from a pair of restored AR-3a's in a real-world listening situation, albeit with replacement AB-Tech tweeters. I'll be happy to share any particulars regarding my restoration or how I performed the test. I have no intention, nor do I have the time or inclination to respond to what I feel is anti-AR bias that's been expressed on this forum as of late (don't bait me - I will not respond). Suffice to say, I have a musical background, am a recording engineer by profession specializing in recording live acoustic music in concert hall settings - I know what live acoustic music sounds like, and the what type of home reproduction comes closest to replicating that live event.

The Speakers

- Speakers are a pair of AR-3a's, manufactured in November of 1969. Restoration, including refoam, new capacitors, etc. largely follows what was published in the "Restoring the AR-3a Guide" available on this forum. Original tweeters suffered from some response irregularities as reported on by Roy C, so I replaced them with AB-Tech tweeters and a .07 mH shunt inductor. Response of these tweeters is very similar to the later AR-11 tweeter, as outlined in Ken Kantor's document on the AB-Tech tweeter as a viable alternative.

The Room:

- Room is 15' wide and about 45' long (a family room/kitchen combination). Ceilings are typical 8' height.

- Speakers are situated on the far end on the family room side. Room is well-damped with two sofas and an area rug.