Newbie Just bought AR-2x at Yard S

I just bought a pair of ar2x at a church sale. The owner said he paid over $300 in 1968 for the pair. When I got them home I hooked them up and no mides or highs. Do the fronts come off of these speakers or do I need to remove the staples or cut the grills. What is the most likely cause. The wire is there between post 2 and T so it's not that. Is it most likely the pot ? or the drivers ? Thanks for any info you can give me on these. I would like to restore since they are appearance wise in great shape with all of the info still on the back of the cabinet. I'm a pro Photographer now but former Electronic Tech and Audio buff so don't be afraid to get technical. Thanks, Dave

Guest dogmeninreno

Typically the pots on the back of vintage AR speakers that control the mid and tweeters, get corroded. Can you get any sound if you fiddle with the pots with a signal coming in from the amp (very technical term "fiddle")..They can be cleaned or replaced. Try http//wwwlayne audio.com or simplyspeakers.com for replacements. Good luck! Dale in Reno

• 4 months later...

I agree that bad pots are the likely culprits. This was without question the weak spot of old AR speakers.

It's very doubtful the original owner paid $300/pr. for these in 1968. The AR-2x had an "unfinished" price of $89 ea, and was $102 ea. in oiled walnut.

Are these the old or new 2x's? In 1970, a new version of the 2x was introduced which used the same 2 1/2" cone tweeter as the AR-4x, with a crossover point of 1200Hz.

The previous 2x used a 3 1/2" tweeter covered by a fiberglass damping pad and a mesh metal grille. It crossed over at 2000Hz.