New New Large Advent owner - xover upgrade, amp questions

Guest fazeka

Guest fazeka

Hello all. I am a newbie here. First post. Great information I've been reading while I've been here.

Got me a pair of nice NLAs last Friday for $50, A456xxx (dated May 1980, 27 years old!). Couple questions...

I bought a refoam kit from looneytune2001 on eBay the next day and plan on installing this weekend. At the same time, I thought it would be a good idea to replace the xover 13uF cap. At the spur of the moment last week, I order two 12uF and two 1uF Solens from Parts Express, but after doing some research (I know, research FIRST!), I realize that this might not have been the best approach as some are saying go with the 'lytic/poly or 'lytic/poly/film-foil (i.e., rather than all metal poly) approach. Are there really significant differences on HF content in regards to these various combinations of caps?

Secondly, I have an Eico HF-81 integrated and a Dynaco ST-70/PAS-3 setup now that I understand would not compliment the Advents particualrly well due mainly to available power and damping factor. Many are saying that the Advents will really be at their best being driven by an SS amp. I have my eye on a Sansui 7070, as well as AU-317 and AU-417. The specs on the latter two are particularly impressive. What else would y'all recommend amplifier-wise to pair up with my Advents?

Thanks,

Chris

Hi Chris;

I believe you will find for NORMAL listening levels, the Dynaco setup to be more than adequate.

A very, very nice pair, which I have never heard.

I have read many comments as to its quality of sound, if stock.

This amp does not have a high damping factor, such as a newer solid state amp but you should enjoy it just the same.

I'll leave the caps comment for someone else.