Introduction and question on KLH model 6

Guest rczetli

Guest rczetli

First an introduction: My name is Rob Czetli and while I have a degree in Electrical Engineering I have worked in I.T. my entire career. I have been designing, building and restoring audio equipment for about 25 years now and as I approach my 40th Birthday this November (where did the time go?) I decided to put together a vintage system of about the same age.

I just purchased a pair of KLH 6s for $25.00 and while they need some work cosmetically, one of them plays beautifully and the other has a frozen woofer. Can the woofer be repaired or would it even be worth the cost of repairing the woofer or should I just look for another Model 6 woofer to replace it? That being said, anyone have a model 6 woofer they would like to sell? ;-)

Thanks for all of the good information!

Rob

Guest matty g

Hey Rob -

First of all welcome to the CSP - There is much information to be had here and some very decent people associated with this site.

To answer your question, no it's not worth having the woofer fixed (assuming it's the screwed in type) but yes it is worth picking up a good used one - they show up on e-bay all the time. I think I might even have one in one of my many "junk" boxes in the attic if e-bay doesn't work out for you. Matter of fact, I have a nice pair of Model Sixes just sitting around that I'm willing to part with if you want to go mongo quad! I'm in Central NJ if you care.

Just curious - what kind of vintage stuff are you driving the Model Sixes with...also what era Sixes are they. I'm assuming they aren't the older model with the epoxied in woofers. Also wondering if the tweeters work!

Matt

Guest rczetli

Thanks for the welcome Matt.

I have been looking for the driver on ebay but I have only seen a lone Model 17 woofer. I get too impatient with ebay. When I'm ready to get to work in my shop, I just want the parts!