Model 5 question

Guest JF

Hello,

I'm a true novice to KLH and the vintage speaker world in general. I have an opportunity to purchase a set of model 5's for a reasonable price (I think). I searched and read all the model 5 posts on this site which appears to have the lion share of information to say the least.

So, can someone sum up what's special about older speakers and anything on the model 5 specifically? Is it worth restoring the speaker if, as I've read, the crossover needs work or the capacitors need replacing? It seems there are true electrical gurus around here, if I don't have that knowledge is this a worth while investment?

Thanks! I look forward to learning from everyone here.

>Hello,

>I'm a true novice to KLH and the vintage speaker world in

>general. I have an opportunity to purchase a set of model 5's

>for a reasonable price (I think). I searched and read all the

>model 5 posts on this site which appears to have the lion

>share of information to say the least.

>

>So, can someone sum up what's special about older speakers and

>anything on the model 5 specifically? Is it worth restoring

>the speaker if, as I've read, the crossover needs work or the

>capacitors need replacing? It seems there are true electrical

>gurus around here, if I don't have that knowledge is this a

>worth while investment?

>

>Thanks! I look forward to learning from everyone here.