9s - what to drive them with

Guest Bret

I didn't get a response to this question I asked in a different thread, so I'm trying it again hoping to avoid a disaster of my own creation.

I have and elderly aunt. She has a pair of KLH-9 speakers in her garage. Before the humid Mississippi summer is upon us I would like to get them in her living-room (or somewhere indoors). The best/easiest way for me to do this is to set them up so that she can listen to them.

I would like some idea of a reasonable amount of power for them.

Any other pointers anyone can offer about things to check, or things I "ought to do" as ways of preserving these would be appreciated.

Bret

Guest palomar

Bret,

I have no experience with these or any electrostatic speakers, so I can only share a couple of things that I have heard about them. I don't know whether they apply to these particular speakers or not.

In some cases, electrostatics can be permanently damaged by even a short overload. I don't know the exact failure mechanism, but apparently once this happens, they will distort (I'm not sure what kind of distortion it is) at much lower volumes than before. So unless you hear differently from a more knowledgeable user, I'd be careful about trying to play them too loudly with a really large amp.

The other thing I've heard is that just a important as amplifier power, is amplifier stability. Maybe it's not a problem with modern amps, but because of the very high reactance of electrostatic speakers, they tend to be difficult loads for some amps to handle. I believe the end result is that the amp starts distorting or ringing well below what you expect based on its power rating.

These speakers are considered by some to still be some of the most musical speakers ever made, so I would most definitely do your best to preserve them.

Good luck.

Gary