Repairing AR 3-A's

Charles218

About thirty years ago I had to sell my AR-3's. I was a poor college student and needed rent money. I have regretted doing this ever since and thought that I would never get another chance at these speakers. That changed today when I found a pair at my local reuse store, and I was suprised when I took them to the cashier and she told me $20 for the pair.

The cabinets are in very good shape, just minor scratches. I hooked them up and the woofers both work and I believe both mid-range speakers work, however the tweeters don't. I would like to check into having them brought up to spec but really don't know which way to turn. I am looking for suggestions from folks here on how to proceed. Is there a company/companies that specialize in authentic restoration? I would like to find a place within driving distance of Ann Arbor if possible, a couple hundred miles or so would be fine.

Also, I don't think that I would want to fix these and then sell them, but I would like to get some idea about their value. I just want to make sure that I don't spend 10 times their value on restoration. Any and all suggestions would be very helpful.

Thanks!!!

>About thirty years ago I had to sell my AR-3's. I was a poor

>college student and needed rent money. I have regretted doing

>this ever since and thought that I would never get another

>chance at these speakers. That changed today when I found a

>pair at my local reuse store, and I was suprised when I took

>them to the cashier and she told me $20 for the pair.

>

>The cabinets are in very good shape, just minor scratches. I

>hooked them up and the woofers both work and I believe both

>mid-range speakers work, however the tweeters don't. I would

>like to check into having them brought up to spec but really

>don't know which way to turn. I am looking for suggestions

>from folks here on how to proceed. Is there a

>company/companies that specialize in authentic