Amps

frankmarsi

Yesterday a site member told me I was doing the wrong thing using Phase Linear 400 amps with my ART-LSTs'. A few days prior I hooked up a second PL400 amp to the speakers. Running a single amp per set of LSTs' each.

I've been using a PL400 since 1974 with my 3a's and have loved the combo since. Finally I have all 4 LSTs' with 2 PL400s', this is I guess the ultimate for my budget and ears, and I've waited for this sound for many years!

Anyone have any comments?

frankmarsi@verizon.net

There's a Eric Clapton CD from 2002 that has some extremely deep bass a great treat for bass lovers and old AR's. I have not yet been able to describe the effect to my friends, it's that good!

Respectfully, Frank Marsi

Frank,

a LSTs sounds like a great setup. I have only a pair run off a single Adcom 555. Seems like plenty of power reserve. The only possibility of a problem with the PL 400 would be if they are not particularly stable at low impedance, like down around 2 ohms where the ARs (3a, LST, etc at nominal 4 ohm impedance)occasionally venture. I don't know what the PL400 characteristics are, but I am sure many on this site will. Good luck and enjoy!!

SteveG

>Yesterday a site member told me I was doing the wrong thing

>using Phase Linear 400 amps with my ART-LSTs'. A few days

>prior I hooked up a second PL400 amp to the speakers. Running

>a single amp per set of LSTs' each.

>I've been using a PL400 since 1975 with my 3a's and have loved

>the combo since. Finally I have all 4 LSTs' with 2 PL400s',

>this is I guess the ultimate for my budget and ears. I've

>waited for this sound for many years!

>Anyone have any comments?

>frankmarsi@verizon.net

>There's a Eric Clapton CD from 2002 that has some extremely

>deep bass a great treat for bass lovers and old AR's. I have

>yet been able to describe the effect to my friends, it's that

>good!

>Respectfully, Frank Marsi

Hi Frank;

Not a bad poor man's system, for sure. lol

What pre-amp are you using?