AR-2ax questions

gcrimmins

I just purchased a pair of AR-2ax speakers because I wanted deeper bass than the AR-4x's I've been using for about 15 years. I have a couple of comments and questions about the speakers.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that all of the tweeter and midrange pots works fine, and the woofer surrounds seem to be in good condition. It looks like the woofer surrounds are cloth. Their serial numbers are 14059 and 14051, if that helps anyone date them. I thought it interesting that the grill cloths have the square "AR" badge in one corner and then a brass "a" in another corner. But the tags on the back say "AR-ax" which is what they appear to be. I wonder if this means they were built early in the production of this speaker and they didn't have the new "ax" brass tags.

One of the speakers seems to work fine, and the other one had two problems. One if fixed, the other has me stumped. There is a hardboard disk between the woofer surround and metal frame. The hardboard disk was coming unglued from the metal frame, resulting in a clicking and vibrating sound. I glued it back down and it seems to work fine now. BTW, what type of adhesive should I have used for this? The second problem involves the midrange driver. I'm hearing some distortion or vibration from it during loud passages. I can best describe it as sounding a bit like a kazoo. I only notice this on louder passages. I don't know if the problem only occurs at this time, or if it's too quite to notice other times. I can image this being a problem with the midrange driver, or perhaps that it's causing something nearby to vibrate. Any ideas on how to get to the bottom of this sound and fix it?