Old pots or new?

Guest BC9

I've got 2 sets of speakers that are next on my list to fix. A pair of 2ax's & a pair of 3a's. They both need new surrounds and the pots either cleaned or replaced. I've done the surrounds and replaced the pots on 2 pairs of AR-5's so I'm not anticipating any problems.

I'm curious as to what the general feelings are on the pots. Clean the old or replace with new?

If clean the old, what's the best way to do it?

Thanks...

I have 2 pair of AR3a's and replaced them both with new pots. No more dropouts! Ever!

I cleaned the pots on one pair but got tired of getting up off my chair while listening to beautiful music to jiggle one of the knobs in the rear.

Honestly, the only drawback would be that the speakers are not truly original.

And the new pots do NOT, I repeat, do NOT alter the sound.

• 1 month later...
Guest Allen deSomer

Hi,

What is the Ohm rating of the replacement pots? I'm a novice but I figure I can tackle the job on my pair of AR2ax's if I know what to buy.

I've had the grills off for two months and can't wait to put the pair back in service.

Thanks In Advance,

Allen

>I have 2 pair of AR3a's and replaced them both with new pots.

>No more dropouts! Ever!

You may want to do a forum search, as this topic has been discussed extensively in the past, including photos.

The bottom line is that "pots" (short for potentiometers; also known as rheostats) are not the same as overpriced 8 ohm l-pads currently being sold as "replacement pots" by some AR parts sellers.

The 8 ohm l-pad alters the crossover impedance, especially in the 4 ohm rated AR-3a, and does alter the sound of that speaker. Many folks are OK with that, or do not know any better..but it is not the "same" sound. The 8 ohm rated AR-2ax would be least affected by the use of 8 ohm l-pads (less than $3 each from Parts Express).

A true replacement is a 15 or 16 ohm pot/rheostat.