AR-2ax restoration - going well, except......

Robthomp

Hi,

I am not new to electronics or audio but I am new to vintage speaker restoration.  I decided to restore my brother's AR-2ax speakers, from around 1970. I've always loved those speakers.  Somehow they ended up in my attic. 

After reading the "Restoring the AR-3a" guide, and a lot of other websites, I got started. Things are going well, the woofers need new foam of course, but the pots aren't that corroded.  All the drivers test correctly with an ohmmeter, so I don't suspect any problems with the voice coils.   But I did notice one tweeter dome was dented (see pic).  It wasn't clear to me whether that would have a significant effect on the sound, but I just couldn't let it go.  So I tried to fix it. First I tried several 'benign' tricks, like the vacuum cleaner, the drinking straw, tape, etc. but none of this made the dent budge. The dome is too stiff. So then I stupidly tried something more invasive - I wet the paper, and went at it with a sewing needle.  Well, all I accomplished was a 5 mm gash in the dome (see second pic).

What are my options now?  I know these tweeters are hard to replace. Can something like this be repaired?  I've read about the HiVi Q1R, maybe I should go that route.  What are your opinions? The other tweeter is fine.

Thanks. This is a great forum.  

Rob

gash.JPG

dent.JPG

you could try find a dead one with a good dome and glue it over your broken dome....might affect output a bit as you'd be nearly doubling the domes mass.....

Michiganpat,

Thanks for the interesting suggestion.  Here's a naive question which will reveal what a newbie I really am (as if that's not already apparent): if I found a dead one with a good dome, and removed that dome to use as a 'spare part', instead of gluing it over my damaged dome, is it possible to remove my damaged dome and replace it with the good one?