My AR9's have me concerned

smitty2k

Noob here but still an enthusiast nonetheless.

Speakers in question: AR9 from the late 70s. 2 woofers, one low-mid, one upper-mid, one tweeter per cabinet.

I'll try to be brief. I'm in Virginia. My Dad is in Massachusetts. Dad says, "Son, I'm downsizing from a house to an apartment. You can have the AR9s but you need to ship and repair them."

I'm no fool. Not only is there significant sentimental value in these speakers but even after shipping and repair costs, they are/will be darn fine speakers at a great price.

What I've done:

-- Re-foamed all 4 woofers with surrounds I found on eBay.

-- Replaced the lower-mids with approved/blessed drivers I found on eBay. (Why replace instead of re-foam? Ummm I got lazy. Naturally I kept the old drivers.)

What they sound like:

-With the woofers unpowered, the mids and tweeters sound fine. (It seems like the crossovers are fine, but then again I wouldn't know what a marginal capacitor sounds like.)

-With the woofers powered, the bottom end sounds very rubber band like. Ugh. I tried to convince myself that this is what amazingly tight bass sounds like but they just aren't right.

--With classic rock bass they really sound like a kid plucking a rubber band "boing-oing-oing." Seemingly, you can hear the string vibrate.

--With male spoken voice dialog there's a staccato vibration in the bass notes that is "never" there in real life.

--With large orchestral organ music bass notes the woofers sound fine

--Mechanically, they "work" fine. But the sound is annoying when aiming for the true potential these speakers can deliver.

How I've diagnosed so far:

I have a $400 Yamaha AV amp with extensive pre-outs. At first I was biamping through a vintage Carver amp (thanks Dad) but the Carver seemed to be struggling (I'll skip the story there) and the woofers sounded rubber-bandy. OK, I took the Carver out and bi-amped using only the Yamaha. Still this odd twanginess sound.