AR-3 (not "a") restoration

Jonas

Hello,

A few weeks ago I made my first experience with vintage speaker replacing the foam surrounds of some HECO speakers from the 70s. It was fun and the speakers sound pretty good now.

Last week I found a pair of AR-3 speakers in my grandmother's basement. When connected to an amp one of them is completely silent, but the woofer of the other one is working. I followed the 3a restoration guide for removing grille, woofer and stuffing. I suppose the next step would be to remove and clean the pots and exchange the capacitors. I will attempt to remove the pots as described for the 3a series tomorrow but I am worried that the 3 series differs regarding the capacitors. I have attached pictures of the speakers and the internal wiring below. I am still new to this hobby so if anyone could give me advice how to proceed I would be really grateful.

Many thanks,

Jonas

post-116540-0-54832700-1316469851_thumb.

post-116540-0-64105200-1316469789_thumb.

post-116540-0-64875200-1316469766_thumb.

Hello,

A few weeks ago I made my first experience with vintage speaker replacing the foam surrounds of some HECO speakers from the 70s. It was fun and the speakers sound pretty good now.

Last week I found a pair of AR-3 speakers in my grandmother's basement. When connected to an amp one of them is completely silent, but the woofer of the other one is working. I followed the 3a restoration guide for removing grille, woofer and stuffing. I suppose the next step would be to remove and clean the pots and exchange the capacitors. I will attempt to remove the pots as described for the 3a series tomorrow but I am worried that the 3 series differs regarding the capacitors. I have attached pictures of the speakers and the internal wiring below. I am still new to this hobby so if anyone could give me advice how to proceed I would be really grateful.

Many thanks,

Jonas

post-116540-0-54832700-1316469851_thumb.

post-116540-0-64105200-1316469789_thumb.