KLH Research Ten Series, Model CL-4

Watson

Howdy fellow forum members. Newbie here. Did not know this forum existed until I started looking for replacement mid-drivers for my KLH speakers.

I've gone thru all 500+ postings in the KLH forum and found no references to my particular speakers that I can tell. Nor have I found any listings on internet searches. Actually, that is how I found this forum,

Just like the topic title says, they are "KLH Research Ten Series, Model CL-4" -- that is directly from the label. They are serial-numbered, but I don't have that info presently. I have a pair of them from around mid 1970s, as best as I can remember. Main thing I am wanting to do presently is replace the mid-range drivers. The cone surrounds are getting poor in shape. They are not foam-surrounds -- are some kind of "rubberized" fabric it seems.

I replaced the woofers a couple of years ago, and that is the 2nd replacement from what I remember. I do plan to replace the foam surrounds on the "1st replacements" which I still have.

Here is some info for those who would want to know:

They are 3-way speakers: Woofer is 10-in (outside rim dia; cone >8"), Mid-Driver frame is 5"x6" in a rounded square shape (cone is 4" or so), Tweeter is cloth dome type measuring 1-1/8 inches across dome (frame is 5-5/8 x 3-1/8 inches, rectangular shaped)

Speaker box is 26-7/8 H x 14-1/4 W x 12-1/4 D. There is a front vent which is 1-3/4 inches in diameter. Have not measured its length. Lots of pink fiberglass batting inside the box. Trim is oiled walnut. Has removable dark brown cloth (original) speaker cover that fastens to box with velcro. Kept the original boxes for years, but I think they got trashed after the last move.

It would not surprise me that the capacitors in the crossovers need replacement too. I have not dug into that yet. Speakers still sound great though!