Message from AR UK Production Manag

administrator

I am reposting the following email I received with permission from Terry.

> From: Terence WILKINSON [mailto:terry@tuswilkinson.fsnet.co.uk]

> Subject: ar speaker enquiry 361 angelo

>

> hi my name is Terry Wilkinson I was the production manager at AR > UK when the UK was closed down

>

> The AR142 was manufactured in the UK during the late 80's using

> Tonegen drivers and crossovers imported from Taiwan.

>

> The 142 as I remember was a 1 1/4" tweeter liquid cooled plus an

> 8" polyprop mid and an 8" polyprop woofer, I have no details of

> xover network as I am not too technical. The reason they do not

> sound like the originals is that all the original AR product i.e.

> ar2,3.4.5.6.7. did not use polyprop drivers. some of there

> drivers i.e. ar15,16, and 14 used Danish tweeter which were poor

> in sound and reliability these 1" tweeters were later produced in

> Taiwan by Tonegen. Possible source of information is a company

> called Culver Tonegen based some where in California.

>

> if I can help on any other matter please do ot hesitate to contact

> me

Thought you guys would find that interesting!

Mark

Hey, thanks for the new, un-moderated format. I hope it works out.

Just a quick note regarding "Tonegen," a name unknown to many audio hobbyists. For many years, Tonegen (Japan) was perhaps the most esteemed high volume driver manufacturer in the world. In particular, their QC and production control were way ahead of their competitors, both in Europe and Asia, and their R&D was impressive, too. Being in the QC control room of a large Tonegen factory, with chemists running around with the hourly adhesives sample tests, and engineers charting machine telemetry, was a speaker designer's wet dream. Finally, the marriage of modern electronics manufacturing with the old-fashioned world of driver making! When AR decided to shut down their driver production in Norwood, MA, Tonegen took it over in full.